© Weymouth Sailing Club© Weymouth Sailing Club© Weymouth Sailing Club

Weymouth Open Meeting Report

Steve Cumley - 10th June 2008

The tenth round of the 2008 Lark belle Isle Travellers series was hosted by Weymouth SC on the 7th and 8th of June. Sun, wind and plenty of Pimms turned the event into an absolute cracker. Two races were sailed on Saturday in a building breeze. Emma Harris and Becky Priest took the first race after expertly weaving their way through the fleet and Nigel Hufton/ Ruth Johnson took the second race with a convincing display of heavy weather sailing.

Three races were sailed on the Sunday in a Northerly force 3 to 4. Steve Cumley and Eluned Jones came out with all guns firing to take three straight wins and secure the open meeting with a race to spare. The P&B boys, also consistent in the shifty conditions, added two seconds and a third to claim second overall and Chris Whitehouse/ Jane Alexander had a good day but didnít do quite enough to squeeze third place from the grasp of Harris and Priest.

Having just gone through the half way stage of the Belle Isle series the ladder is starting to hot up. Not surprisingly, all of the fleet leaders were present at Weymouth, trying to claim every point possible. In the bronze fleet John Crooks and Hannah Mayhew had a great weekend and were seen vying for the lead around the windward mark on a number of occasions. Nigel Scott continues to lead the silver fleet, and with the help this weekend of guest crew Ellie Bremer, stretched out his lead over second placed Steve Chatten to 21 points. In the gold fleet Harris and Priest continue to look very strong.

Our thanks go to Weymouth SC for organising an absolutely superb event Ė and a particular thanks go to the rescue crew who very generously stayed out at the end of racing on Saturday, to keep an eye on the boats that wanted to go for a raz around Weymouth bay.

1st Steve Cumley and Eluned Jones. Barnt Green SC.
2nd Steve Hall and Simon Haighton. Northampton SC
3rd Emma Harris and Becky Priest. Waldringfield SC.