1 Minute Silence Held During Lark Masters

Nigel Hufton - 19th October 2015

A small but perfectly formed fleet visited Hayling Island SC for the Lark Masters on 17 October.

The weather started sunny and racing was held in a northerly Force 3-4 at High Tide on Pilsey Sand. Race officer (and sometime Lark sailor) Greg Wells set some excellent courses.

Before Race 1, the fleet assembled at the start line for a 1 minute silence in memory of Ruth Lennox, a top crew in the Lark fleet in the 1980s/90s.

Some excellent nip and tuck racing ensured with places changing. With the northerly wind swinging slowly, knowing the numbers and judging which phase the wind was in was crucial.

In Race 1, Nigel Hufton and Adam Owens got into the lead in Race 1 and never looked back, followed in by Steve Cumley and Eluned Jones. In Race 2, Chris Ellis and Rory Burdock led around the first mark, with Hufton/Owens down in fifth, but the latter played the shifts best to pick their way through the fleet and eventually go on to win, followed this time by Nigel Scott and Will Kennedy.

With the event won, Hufton/Owens could have sat out the last race, but the taste of victory was too tempting and they again got through to win the last race to post a clean scoreline in this, Nigelís first ever Masters win. The traditional Black Tie dinner then followed.

Thanks go to Hayling Island for again providing their superb venue.

Full results.

1st 2470 Nigel Hufton Adam Owens 3 2
2nd 2496 Steve Cumley Eluned Jones 7 4
3rd 2347 Nigel Scott Will Kennedy 8 5
4th 2502 Steve Chatten Fiona Gray 15 8
5th 2469 Oliver Brown George Bridges 16 9
6th 2530 Chris Ellis Rory Burdock 19 12